Is Germany qualified to Euro 2024 automatically? How host nations have fared at men’s European Championships

By | March 25, 2023

The journey to Euro 2024 for most sides begins with a fairly long qualifying campaign. 

With 53 teams needing to be cut down to 24, teams will play several qualifiers over the next year to determine whether they’ll be competing at Euro 2024. 

Italy are reigning champions but aren’t guaranteed a place at the tournament and have drawn fellow 2020 finalists England in their qualifying group. 

Euro 2024 will take place solely in Germany after they beat out a rival bid from Turkey to host the event. 

MORE: When is the next Euros? Date, schedule for UEFA Euro 2024 in Germany

Is Germany qualified to Euro 2024 automatically? 

One of the major benefits of hosting the Euros, is the fact teams are generally granted automatic qualification.

This is the case for Germany, who will also be automatically placed in Pot 1 for the Euro 2024 final draw. 

While hosts have historically been granted direct entry into the tournament, Euro 2020 was held across several countries so no nation automatically qualified. 

How have host nations fared at men’s European Championships?

With home-ground advantage, Euro hosts have generally performed quite well at the tournament and have three times won the title in their own country. 

Spain were the first to do so when they beat the Soviet Union in the 1964 final, with Italy replicating the feat four years later after edging past Yugoslavia. 

France were the most recent host nation to triumph at the Euros when they lifted the title on home soil in 1984. 

At Euro 2020, champions Italy were one of several host countries and played all of their group games in Rome but notably had to beat England in a final played at Wembley. 

Germany Euro record

Germany will be hoping to live up to the strong results achieved by Euro hosts in 2024. 

The 2014 World Cup winners haven’t won the European Championships since 1996 and were bundled out in the Round of 16 at their last attempt by England. 

Including their record while known as West Germany, they have won three Euro titles — the equal most alongside Spain. 

Year Stage Results
1972 Winners 2-0-0
1976 Runners-up 1-0-1
1980 Winners 3-1-0
1984 Group stage 1-1-1
1988 Semifinals 2-1-1
1992 Runners-up 2-1-2
1996 Winners 5-1-0
2000 Group stage 0-1-2
2004 Group stage 0-2-1
2008 Runners-up 4-0-2
2012 Semifinals 4-0-1
2016 Semifinals 4-1-1
2020 Round of 16 1-1-2