NFL Honors 2023: Live award show updates & winners for MVP, OPOY, DPOY & more

By | February 9, 2023

If the Super Bowl is a celebration of the best teams in the NFL, the NFL Honors ceremony is a celebration of the best individual performances.

For the second year in a row, the NFL Honors will be held on a Thursday, rather than the night before the Super Bowl. The NFL held the honors show the night before the Super Bowl for 10 straight years, bucking the trend in 2022.

In 2023, it will be held at the Symphony Hall in Phoenix, making Arizona the eminent destination for all NFL content this week.

While MVP will always be the most-discussed award, this year features more intriguing conversations outside of Most Valuable Player. Offensive Player of the Year has several intriguing candidates, as does Defensive Player of the Year. Among the rookies, will teammates Garrett Wilson and Ahmad Gardner take home the hardware for the Jets? Or will Brock Purdy play spoiler after helming an NFC championship appearance for the 49ers after Jimmy Garoppolo was sidelined for the year?

MORE: Watch NFL Honors and Super Bowl 57 live with fuboTV (free trial)

The Sporting News is tracking the NFL Honors ceremony live and will be providing updates as winners are announced.  

NFL Honors 2023 award finalists


  • Josh Allen, Bills QB
  • Joe Burrow, Bengals QB
  • Jalen Hurts, Eagles QB
  • Justin Jefferson, Vikings WR
  • Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB

Defensive Player of the Year:

  • Nick Bosa, 49ers DE
  • Chris Jones, Chiefs DT
  • Micah Parsons, Cowboys LB

Offensive Player of the Year:

  • Tyreek Hill, Dolphins WR
  • Jalen Hurts, Eagles QB
  • Justin Jefferson, Vikings WR
  • Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB

Offensive Rookie of the Year:

  • Brock Purdy, 49ers QB
  • Kenneth Walker III, Seahawks RB
  • Garrett Wilson, Jets WR

Defensive Rookie of the Year:

  • Ahmad Gardner, Jets CB
  • Aidan Hutchinson, Lions DE
  • Tariq Woolen, Seahawks CB

Comeback Player of the Year:

  • Saquon Barkley, Giants RB
  • Christian McCaffrey, 49ers RB
  • Geno Smith, Seahawks QB

Coach of the Year:

  • Brian Daboll, Giants
  • Doug Pederson, Jaguars
  • Kyle Shanahan, 49ers

Assistant Coach of the Year: DeMeco Ryans, DC, 49ers

The Texans have a lot to look forward to with DeMeco Ryans. Ryans helmed the NFL’s best defense by both yards and points in San Francisco last season, and was a top coaching candidate. Helped along by the likes of Defensive Player of the Year finalist Nick Bosa, Ryans was one of the most coveted names for teams looking for a new coach this offseason.

Walter Payton Man of the Year

Fantasy Player of the Year

FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Celebration of the Year

Moment of the Year

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2023 (Finalists)

  • Jared Allen
  • Willie Anderson
  • Ronde Barber
  • Dwight Freeney*
  • Devin Hester
  • Torry Holt
  • Andre Johnson
  • Albert Lewis
  • Darrelle Revis*
  • Joe Thomas*
  • Zach Thomas
  • DeMarcus Ware
  • Reggie Wayne
  • Patrick Willis
  • Darren Woodson

* – First year eligible