What Patriots’ history of first-year head coaches tells us about Jerod Mayo?

By | June 16, 2024

After mutually parting ways with Bill Belichick after 24 seasons, the New England Patriots promoted Jerod Mayo to become the 15th head coach in the franchise’s history.

The Patriots have the toughest schedule in the league in 2024 and don’t exactly have the most talented roster in the NFL, but we can look back at the old head coaches to get some insight into what we could expect in Mayo’s first season.

Here’s a look back at every coach in Patriots’ history and how they did in their first season.

Lou Saban (1960-61)

First season: 5-9

Mike Holovak (1961-68)

First season: 9-4-1 (first full season in 1962)

Cliver Rush (1969-70)

First season: 4-10

John Mazur (1970-72)

First season: 6-8 (first full season in 1971)

Chuck Fairbanks (1973-78)

First season: 5-9

Ron Erhardt (1979-81)

First season: 9-7

Ron Meyer (1982-84)

First season: 5-4

Raymond Berry (1984-89)

First season: 11-5 (first full season in 1985)

Rod Rust (1990)

First season: 1-15

Dick MacPherson (1991-92)

First season: 6-10

Bill Parcells (1993-96)

First season: 5-11

Pete Carroll (1997-99)

First season: 10-6

Bill Belichick (2000-23)

First season: 5-11