Who has won the most World Constructors’ Championships in F1 history? Teams with most titles in Formula One

By | March 1, 2023

Although the Formula One Drivers’ Championship first ran in 1950, it was only from 1958 that a Constructors’ Championship title was contested between the teams on the grid. 

Since then, there have been various rules set for what constitutes the World Constructors’ Championship, including that only the best-placed car would contribute points for each team up until 1980. 

Nowadays, it’s much simpler, with each team having two cars on the grid that fight it out with rivals to amass the most combined points in an F1 season.

So, which team holds the record for most Constructors’ Championships won across Formula One history? 

MORE: F1 2023 calendar: Where will Formula 1 race this season?

Which team has the most World Constructors’ Championship titles in F1 history? 

Ferrari (16)

Ferrari 2004

The most recognisable team in motorsport, Ferrari hold the record for most constructors’ championship titles won across Formula One history with 16.

The famous Italian team took their first crown all the way back in 1961 and have since become the only team in history to partake in more than 1000 grands prix.

Current drivers Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz will be hoping to bring to an end a 15-year wait for another team title in 2023 with Ferrari not tasting victory now since 2008.

Years won: 1961, 1964, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008

Williams (9)

Arguably the greatest British Formula One team in history, Williams only joined the grid for the first time properly in 1978 but they’ve since gone on to win the second most constructors’ titles. 

Spearheaded by owner Frank Williams and designer Patrick Head, the team won their first title back in 1980 before going on to dominate much of the 1980s and 1990s. 

However, the British constructor has struggled in recent years, regularly finishing last in championships after the Williams family ownership of the team came to an end. They finished bottom of the standings in 2022.

Years won: 1980, 1981, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997

McLaren (8)

Porsche McLaren Prost 1986

Getty Images

Founded back in 1963, McLaren are one of the most prominent Formula One teams in the history of the sport. 

The British constructor’s best spell in F1 came between 1988 and 1991 when they won four consecutive constructors’ titles, the first time that feat had been achieved.

Although they haven’t won the title since 1998, Lewis Hamilton famously won the first of his seven World Drivers’ Championships with the team back in 2008. 

Years won: 1974, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1998

Mercedes (8)

Speaking of Lewis Hamilton, his current team Mercedes have enjoy unparalleled success with him at the wheel over the past decade. 

First going in F1 all the way back in 1954 for just two seasons, the German team came back into the sport in 2010 and have largely dominated ever since. 

Winning eight straight constructors’ titles before Red Bull finally broke that streak in 2022, current team principal Toto Wolff will be hoping Hamilton and teammate George Russell can restore them to winning ways in 2023. 

Years won: 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021

Lotus (7)

Another team who are held in the highest regard across Formula One history, Lotus joined the grid back in 1958 at the Monaco Grand Prix. 

Thanks to the success of both Jim Clark and Graham Hill, the British team found plenty of success throughout the 1960s for the first time, taking the constructors’ titles in 1963, 1965 and 1968. 

They again won in 1970, though in unfortunate circumstances following the death of driver Jochen Rindt who was killed at Monza after winning five prior races that season. As such, he’s the only driver to date to be crowned champion posthumously as his championship lead couldn’t be overturned. 

More success followed in the 1970s for the team, but after a series of lesser finishes, Lotus left F1 in 1994. 

Years won: 1963, 1965, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1973, 1978

Most successful F1 teams in history by number of World Constructors’ Championship titles

Constructor Titles Won
Ferrari 16
Williams 9
McLaren 8
Mercedes 8
Lotus 7
Red Bull 5
Renault 2
Cooper 2
Brabham 2
Benetton 1
Brawn 1
Tyrrell 1
Vanwall 1
Matra 1

*Bold denotes current teams on the F1 grid in 2023.