Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2020? Full voting results, stats, list of award winners

By | January 5, 2021

The 2020 Heisman Trophy winner was announced Tuesday night on ESPN in a ceremony that took place six days before the College Football Playoff title game.

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith won the honor with 447 first-place votes — more than double the second-place finisher. It’s a regular season award, but fans will still get to see Smith competing in the CFP championship; he will go up against Ohio State next Monday in his final college appearance.

The other finalists were Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence, Alabama’s Mac Jones and Florida’s Kyle Trask. Lawrence finished ahead of Jones for second place, which surprised many observers who believed Jones was the only threat to Smith at the top of the list.

MORE: History of WRs winning the Heisman

Previously, the No. 5 through No. 10 vote-getters for the Heisman Trophy were unveiled. In order from most to least votes received, those honorees were Najee Harris, Breece Hall, Justin Fields, Zach Wilson, Ian Book and Kyle Pitts. Fields, the quarterback for Ohio State, will oppose Smith in the CFP championship.

Below is a breakdown of the 2020 Heisman Trophy ceremony as well as the winners of college football’s other top awards.

Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2020?

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith won the 2020 Heisman Trophy after his 105-reception, 1,641-yard season. He’s the first pass catcher to win the Heisman since Desmond Howard did it in 1991.

Smith, a senior, is a projected first-round pick in the 2021 NFL Draft. He’ll leave the Tide having secured at least 43 touchdown catches — the CFP championship game presents a final opportunity to add to his tally.

Along with quarterback Mac Jones and running back Najee Harris, Smith completed a trio of Alabama players in the top five of Heisman voting this season

Heisman voting results 2020

Finish Player Pos. School Total points 1st 2nd 3rd
1. DeVonta Smith WR Alabama 1,856 447 221 73
2. Trevor Lawrence QB Clemson 1,187 222 176 169
3. Mac Jones QB Alabama 1,130 138  248 220
4. Kyle Trask QB Florida 737 61 164 226

Heisman Trophy voting consists of 870 media members, 56 living Heisman winners and one vote from the fans.

College football award winners 2020

Finalists are listed below and will be updated once the winner is named.

  • Heisman Trophy (outstanding player of the year):  DeVonta Smith (Alabama)
  • Maxwell Award (player of the year): Mac Jones, DeVonta Smith, Trevor Lawrence
  • Davey O’Brien Award (best QB): Mac Jones, Kyle Trask, Trevor Lawrence
  • Doak Walker Award (best RB): Najee Harris, Breece Hall, Travis Etienne
  • Fred Biletnikoff Award (best WR): DeVonta Smith, Elijah Moore, Kyle Pitts
  • John Mackey Award (best TE): Kyle Pitts, Charlie Kolar, Jalen Wydermyer
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Zaven Collins, Jeremiah Oswusu-Koramoa, Patrick Surtain II
  • Butkus Award (best linebacker): Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah (Notre Dame)
  • Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Richie Grant, Trevon Moehrig, Patrick Surtain II
  • Rimington Trophy (best center): Landon Dickerson, Tyler Linderbaum, Josh Myers
  • Outland Trophy (best interior offensive lineman): Liam Eichenberg, Alex Leatherwood, Daviyon Nixon
  • Lou Groza Award (best kicker): Jose Borregales, Jake Oldroyd, Will Reichard
  • Ray Guy Award (best punter): Jake Camarda, Pressley Harvin III, Lou Hedley