IIHF Women’s World Championship 2021: Time, TV channel, live stream, schedule

By | August 23, 2021

It has been more than two years since the women have hit the ice, but the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship is officially here. 

After the 2020 edition was canceled because of the COVID-19 pandemic and this year’s tournament was moved from April to May to August, the best players from around the globe have now descended upon Canada to compete for gold. 

The United States is aiming for its sixth consecutive championship dating to 2013 (the worlds are not held in Olympic years). USA Hockey’s last title, in 2019, came with controversy after an overtime goal by Finland’ was overturned and the Americans won in a shootout.

The Finns advanced to the final after upsetting Canada 4-2 in the semifinals. The loss marked the first time Canada did not play for gold in the tournament’s history. Canada has won the most golds (10) but will be searching for its first since 2012.

As always, the women’s world championship is expected to be packed with big goals, big saves and even bigger wins. With national pride on the line, the battle for gold will be fierce. Here’s all you need to know about the tournament.

Where is the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

The 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship will take place in a bubble at WinSport Arena in Calgary, Alta.

The tournament originally was to be held in Halifax and Truro, N.S., from April 7-17. It was shifted to May 6-16 because of the ongoing pandemic, but on the morning of April 21, Hockey Canada was informed by the province that the tournament was canceled

This year marks the eighth time Canada will host the championship and the first time the women’s tournament will be played in the province of Alberta. The last time Canada hosted, the Americans beat the host country 1-0 in overtime in Kamloops, B.C.

When will the 2021 Women’s World Championship take place?

The tournament will begin Friday, Aug. 20, and end with gold medals being handed out Aug. 31.

The group stage, with two groups of five teams each, will end Aug. 26. After an off-day, eight teams will battle it out in the quarterfinals. The semifinals will be on Aug. 30. The bronze-medal and gold-medal games will be played Aug. 31.

What channel is the 2021 Women’s World Championship being aired on? 

  • TV channel (U.S.): NHL Network
  • Live stream (U.S.): ESPN+, fuboTV (7-day free trial)
  • TV channel (Canada): TSN, RDS
  • Live stream (Canada): TSN Direct

Every women’s world championship game will be aired on TSN in Canada. RDS will cover all Canada games including the playoff rounds. NHL Network will air every USA game with ESPN+ carrying the other games. 

Which teams are in the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

Ten teams, divided into two groups of five, are participating. Every team in Group A will advance to the quarterfinals. Only three teams will advance from Group B with the third-best team playing the top team from Group A.

Group A Group B
United States Japan
Canada Germany
Finland Czech Republic
ROC Denmark
Switzerland Hungary

Why is Russia listed as ‘ROC’?

The World Anti-Doping Agency banned Russia from international competition for four years last December. The ban includes Olympic Games and world championships and Russia’s flag or name cannot be used. Athletes, however, are not banned from competing but can only do so under a neutral flag.

ROC stands for Russian Olympic Committee, and instead of the national anthem being played, Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 will be played.

Are fans allowed at the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

Hockey Canada announced on Aug. 18 that fans will not be allowed to attend the preliminary games.

“While we would love to be able to welcome fans to WinSport Arena in Calgary, our priority focus is the health and safety of all involved, allowing the best women’s hockey players in the world to compete and ensuring we can present medals on Aug. 31,” Scott Smith, president and chief operating officer of Hockey Canada. said a statement released by the team.

2021 Women’s World Championship standings

Considered the “Power 5,” every team from Group A will advance to the quarterfinals. The top three teams from Group B will also advance. The teams that lose in the quarterfinals will compete in a separate bracket with the winning team earning the No. 5 slot and a spot in Group A in the 2023 tournament. 


Team Wins Losses OTL Points
1. Canada 2 0 0 6
2. USA 2 0 0 6
3. ROC 1 1 0 3
4. Finland 0 2 0 0
5. Switzerland 0 2 0 0


Team Wins Losses OTL Points
1. Czech Republic 2 0 0 6
2. Germany 1 0 0 3
3. Japan 1 0 0 3
4. Hungary 0 2 0 0
5. Denmark 0 2 0 0

Wins in regulation = 3 points
Overtime win = 2 points
Overtime loss = 1 point

When is Canada vs. USA?

The 2021 edition of the Battle of North America will face off Aug. 26 in the preliminary round. Of course, there’s the expectation that there will be a rematch — but when is anyone’s guess.

Full schedule for the 2021 Women’s World Championship

Participating teams are each guaranteed four group-stage games. Teams that advance to the final day of competition (bronze-medal or gold-medal game) will play a total of seven contests.

(All times Eastern) 

Czech Republic 6, Denmark 1 2 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Canada 5, Finland 3 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
USA 3, Switzerland 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Germany 3, Hungary 0 2 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
ROC 3, Switzerland 1 6 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Japan 1, Denmark 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Czech Republic 4, Hungary 2 2 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Canada 5, ROC 1 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
USA 3, Finland 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Germany vs. Denmark 2 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Japan vs. Czech Republic 6 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
USA vs. ROC 2 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Switzerland vs. Canada 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Hungary vs. Japan 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
ROC vs. Finland 2 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Czech Republic vs. Germany 6 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Denmark vs. Hungary 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Finland vs. Switzerland 2 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
USA vs. Canada 6 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Japan vs. Germany 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN+
Quarterfinals Noon TSN, NHLN
Quarterfinals 3:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Quarterfinals 7 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Quarterfinals 10:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Semifinals 3 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Semifinals 7 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Bronze-medal game 3:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Gold-medal game 7:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN

Who won the 2019 Women’s World Championship?

The United States won the last worlds after a controversial decision in overtime. It was the Americans’ fifth consecutive gold.

WORLDS 2019: USA wins gold after controversial OT decision denies Finland

Who has won the last 10 Women’s World Championships?

Year Winner Host country
2019 United States Finland
2017 United States United States
2016 United States Canada
2015 United States Sweden
2013 United States Canada
2012 Canada United States
2011 United States Switzerland
2009 United States Finland
2008 United States China
2007 Canada Canada

Which countries have won medals at the Women’s World Championship?

Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
Canada 10 8 1 19
United States 9 10 0 19
Finland 0 1 12 13
Russia 0 0 3 3
Sweden 0 0 2 2
Switzerland 0 0 1 1