World Darts Championship 2022/23: Wednesday’s order of play as Michael van Gerwen resumes his title challenge

By | December 27, 2022

The round of 32 continues on Wednesday at the 2022/23 PDC World Darts Championship as three-time winner and tournament favourite Michael van Gerwen resumes his title challenge.

Van Gerwen was impressive during his opening win before Christmas and the Dutch dartist will look to continue that form with a victory over the unorthodox Austrian Mensur Suljovic.

Several other big title winners toe the oche on Day 11: Jose de Sousa, Danny Noppert, Joe Cullen, Damon Heta, Michael Smith and two-time world champion Gary Anderson.

A field of 96 players representing 28 different countries are set to compete at the Alexandra Palace in London during the 30th edition of the PDC World Darts Championship. 

MORE: Join DAZN to stream the World Darts Championship in the US and Canada

Wednesday, December 28 – Afternoon Session from 12:30 GMT

Ryan Searle vs. Jose de Sousa (Round 3)

Danny Noppert vs. Alan Soutar (Round 3)

Gary Anderson vs. Chris Dobey (Round 3)

Wednesday, December 28 — Evening Session from 19:00 GMT

Joe Cullen vs. Damon Heta (Round 3)

Michael van Gerwen vs. Mensur Suljovic (Round 3)

Michael Smith vs. Martin Schindler (Round 3)

MORE: World Darts Championship 2022/23 draw, schedule, results, seeded players

Who are the former winners of the PDC World Darts Championship? 

Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor is the most successful player in PDC World Darts Championship history having won the title 14 times, with his victories spanning from 1995 to 2013. Taylor also won two BDO World Championship titles in 1990 and 1992.  

However, Dennis Priestley claimed the first PDC World Darts Championship in 1994 when he defeated Taylor 6-1 in the final. 

In total, just ten players have won the PDC World Darts Championship. 

  • Phil Taylor – 14 times (1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2013) 

  • Michael van Gerwen – 3 times (2014, 2017, 2019) 

  • John Part – 2 times (2003, 2008) 

  • Adrian Lewis – 2 times (2010, 2011) 

  • Gary Anderson – 2 times (2015, 2016) 

  • Peter Wright – 2 times (2020, 2022) 

  • Dennis Priestley (1994) 

  • Raymond van Barneveld (2007) 

  • Rob Cross (2018) 

  • Gerwyn Price (2021)

Where is the PDC World Darts Championship held? 

The PDC World Darts Championship is held at the Alexandra Palace in north London. The tournament has been staged there every year since the 2007/08 edition. 

Prior to this, the event was staged at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet, Essex from when the tournament began in 1993/94.