NHL awards 2021: Finalists for Hart, Norris, Vezina and other honors

By | June 9, 2021

As the Stanley Cup playoffs continue to roll along, the NHL is announcing the finalists for the 2021 NHL Awards. 

Several players have emerged as the names to look for when award winners are finally announced. Oilers’ center Connor McDavid looks like the heavy favorite to win the Hart Memorial Trophy over other top contenders such as the Leafs’ Auston Matthews, whereas Lightning goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy looks like he could be due for the Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goaltender, if he can hold off the Golden Knights’ Marc-Andre Fleury.

McDavid was the only player in the NHL with more than 100 points — he led the field by 21 points — with 33 goals (second-best) and 72 assists (best). 

If McDavid and Vasilevskiy win the two honors, it would be their second times taking home the respective trophies. 

MORE: Updated NHL bracket, dates, times, TV channels for every Round 2 series

Some other names to be on the lookout for: Lightning defender Victor Hedman is viewed as a strong choice in the Norris Trophy hunt, while the Wild’s Kirill Kaprizov is looking like the front-runner for the Calder after he finished the season with 27 goals and 24 assists. 

Check out the finalists for the most prestigious awards in the NHL as they are released. 

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)

Finalist Team
Marc-Andre Fleury Golden Knights
Philipp Grubauer Avalanche
Andrei Vasilevskiy Lightning

Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as voted by players)

Finalist Team
Sidney Crosby Penguins
Auston Matthews Maple Leafs
Connor McDavid Oilers

Calder Memorial Trophy (best rookie)

Finalist Team
Kirill Kaprizov Wild
Alex Nedeljkovic Hurricanes
Jason Robertson Stars

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (leadership)

Finalist Team
Kurtis Gabriel Sharks
Pekka Rinne Predators
P.K. Subban Devils

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (most gentlemanly player)

Finalist Team
Auston Matthews Maple Leafs
Jaccob Slavin Hurricanes
Jared Spurgeon Wild

Frank J. Selke Trophy (best defensive forward)

Finalist Team
Aleksander Barkov Panthers
Patrice Bergeron Bruins
Mark Stone Golden Knights

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (dedication to hockey)

Finalist Team
Matt Dumba Wild
Oskar Lindblom Flyers
Patrick Marleau Sharks

James Norris Memorial Trophy (best defenseman)

Finalist Team
Adam Fox Rangers
Victor Hedman Lightning
Cale Makar Avalanche

Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)

Announcement on Thursday, June 10

Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year)

Announcement on Friday, June 11